Happy British Day

So, today, after many years living abroad, I am finally able to say, “I’m a British Person.”

It’s interesting.  At first, I did it mostly to make things easier for me living across the pond.  I didn’t think too much about it, more simply that I wanted to full integrate with my current society.

Then, I started really thinking about it.  I realized it wasn’t just a piece of paper (though it was), but that it meant a lot more than just that.  In every way that matters, I’m as British as apple… well, you get the idea.

It’s a pretty significant thing.  I’m proud that I’ve reached this point.  It’s a strange place to be, a place most people never are.  I’m a son of two worlds now, and that’s pretty damn cool.

 

4 thoughts on “Happy British Day

  1. Lee says:

    Congrads Matt! Looking forward to seeing your newly British self over the holidays!

  2. Congrats. My mom went British when she was over there. My brother went Canadian up in Edmonton. Dual citizenship is very trendy. You could be like a pirate. Maybe pick up a letter of marque from France, grab citizenship in Belize for a nominal fee, and sail the high seas for plunder…or not. 🙂

  3. Tony says:

    Level 1 British – this means having forsaken your American class you can no longer gain any levels, nor can you use your sacred donut powers until you atone 🙂

Leave a Reply

